Augers - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2006, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Augers

I'm looking to upgrade from my hand powered auger this year to a gas powered.
Can anyone explain the practical difference between getting an 8", 9", or 10" auger? I will mostly be fishing 11mile and Granby. I'd appreciate any insight. Thanks.
kofish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-22-2006, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Augers

i have a 8 inch and 10 inch auger , the benefit of the 10 inch hole is if you have a bigger fish its easy to get threw , i like using my vex too so it gives me more space, but the 8 is decent too , the 8 inch is a strikemaster , probley the best augers, then i have a eskimo, the worst augers
kokaneeking is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2006, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)

I have a 10 " Strikemaster Mag2000, very nice auger. KK is right, the 10 inch leaves a lot of room for everything, including that 36 inch mack you are gonna pull out this year. . Keep the blades sharp!. Used to know an old guy, Hunter's sharpening, who lived off Federal, that would sharpen for 5 bucks. Don't think he is around anymore. I can't sharpen for the life of me, and new blades are anywhere between 20 and 25 bones. Here's a free tip....start your auger in the morning at home to warm up, then again when you unload at the truck.. At 20 below, on the lake, that bad boy may never fire up. And I always carry a spare hand auger, just in case it WON'T start.(it happens.) Beats having to head home, or walking over to the next people, and saying, "ahem, ah, can I borrow your auger."
lake1177 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2006, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)

Wouldn't this topic work better in the ice fishing section?

Old 09-22-2006, 07:55 PM   #5 (permalink)

Agreed, still works. And a warm welcome,kofish.