Ion 40v Auger, Yay or Nay - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2017, 03:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Ion 40v Auger, Yay or Nay

So I have a an old Strikemaster Magnum III, 49cc with a Tecumseh motor, which is still running, but I have been limping it along for years. When I bought it, it was older than I was, and now it is practically a relic. Classics are sometimes the best quality, but she is much past her prime. I keep it around because it works and I can't see buying new tools when the old ones still work.

To be honest, I am tired of fiddling with it all winter long. In sub-freezing temps it likes to stall and the throttle sticks. I replace fuel lines and o rings every year, and every year it still leaks.

Long story short, Its time to put the old girl out to pasture. I am considering the Ion 40V w/8" auger. Any thoughts on yay or nay?
deadzone is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-12-2017, 03:43 PM   #2 (permalink)

I have the ION and absolutely love it. I had an old Eskimo auger that was a pain in the butt to get running in winter. I had it worked on several times but it still was a pain to start (if it started). After driving 60 miles to get to Blue Mesa from Montrose and then not having the auger start was the final straw. Gave it to a shop owner to do with whatever he wanted. Went and bought the Ion and haven't looked back. Two winters with no problems at all and I don't expect any issues this winter either. No gas makes hauling the auger inside the truck nice also. Haven't heard of anyone else having issues with the Ion either.
Pilotfly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2017, 05:46 PM   #3 (permalink)