Marcum vs AquaVu - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2019, 07:18 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Marcum vs AquaVu

Already looking forward for ice season and wanting a camera for this season’s adventures.

Does anyone have any personal experience on the Marcum or AquaVu models?
Pitbull44 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-03-2019, 07:05 AM   #2 (permalink)

I used the original Aqua-view for years b4 I got a flasher. Lots of fun, learned a lot about fish behaviour. Larger walleyes and trout will wrap around the cable and grief will ensue.

Unless it's gin-clear water its a waste of time.

Also when its real cold and you move a lot the cable gets everything wet and then freezes. PITA.

That said, I may drag the old AV onto the ice this season!
slayerfish is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2019, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)

I've been using the same Marcum cam for 8 years. Works great when I use it (which is rarely).
Dakota is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2019, 11:10 AM   #4 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slayerfish View Post
I used the original Aqua-view for years b4 I got a flasher. Lots of fun, learned a lot about fish behaviour. Larger walleyes and trout will wrap around the cable and grief will ensue.

Unless it's gin-clear water its a waste of time.

Also when its real cold and you move a lot the cable gets everything wet and then freezes. PITA.

That said, I may drag the old AV onto the ice this season!
Thanks man - I appreciate the feedback. I fished with a buddy last year who brought the Marcum VS485C and liked it. I was able to see perch putting my bait in their mouth without even detecting a bite on my rod or flasher (marked the fish only). We were also inside my portable so there wasn’t a sun glare.