broken strikemaster recoil spring - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2008, 08:47 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default broken strikemaster recoil spring

I have a Strikemaster Mag 2000 that has a broken recoil assembly. We were out on the ice and it started right up but the rope would not pull back into it. Anybody fixe one of these, and if so how hard is i.
scout76 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-08-2008, 08:55 AM   #2 (permalink)

Send a message via MSN to checkers8
Default Re: broken strikemaster recoil spring

Had the same thing happen a few years back. I tried to repair it myself , but couldn;'t figure it out. So, I took mine to a small engine repair shop. I haven't had a problem since.
Old 01-08-2008, 09:09 AM   #3 (permalink)

Area Rent All on north Federal is the local authorized service center for Strikemaster. They should be able to replace the spring at no cost if it is still under warranty. If not, any small engine repair shop can do it.
GMCO45 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2008, 09:11 AM   #4 (permalink)

Just go to strikemaster.com and you can order one. Just pull the gas tank off and then the top screws. Then just look how the old one was in there it should just drop right in. Get the rope in there(thats the hard part) replace screws and good to go. Sounds real easy typing it out, but give yourself 1-2 hrs to do this job right. Not too hard though.
Old 01-08-2008, 10:48 AM   #5 (permalink)

Thanks for the help, any idea how uch a shop would charge to do the repair.
Old 01-08-2008, 01:36 PM   #6 (permalink)