Gas auger!!!!! - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2008, 09:45 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Gas auger!!!!!

I know I know, it seems like everybody is having trouble with augers this year. So yesterday, our Jiffy auger crapped out on us at the lake. It may have been because the temp was EXTREMELY cold, but I am thinking otherwise.

What are the symptoms of an auger that may not have the right oil/gas mix?

We got to the lake and tried to start it and it took forever to start. Then, once it started, it kept petering out and would just shut off and we kept having to start it again. Then, after that happening about 7 times, it just wouldn't start altogether....

Of course, we kept trying and ended up breaking the pullstring because we pulled it too many times. There was plenty of gas, but the dang thing just wouldn't work. Would an improper oil/gas mix cause this or does this sound like a problem with the actual motor? Are augers meant to be tuned up? I am new to the power auger world.....
rivrunnr1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-16-2008, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Gas auger!!!!!

hi rivrunnr1,