My Strikemaster Lazer drills nasty holes! Need help - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2010, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default My Strikemaster Lazer drills nasty holes! Need help

So I have a 2 hp 10" Strikemaster Lazer. Starts & runs great, but it drills the funkiest holes known to mankind. It has done it since I've owned the auger. The holes it drills are sloppy, like there's a bend in the shaft or something. They are never straight and the edges are never clean. I've ran it under no load and verified there's no visible wobble in the rotation of the shaft so I don't think the shaft is bent. The auger blades are very sharp, so it's not due to dull blades.

Anybody know what can cause this auger to cut such poor holes? Any ideas? I bought a new set of blades, but I just can't believe that's the problem.

Any advice is appreciated.

Best regards,
Dogwood
dogwood is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-07-2010, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: My Strikemaster Lazer drills nasty holes! Need help

If your vertically challenged as I am, (I'm 5'6"), then Golden Rod might be onto something. Manage your torque. I have the same unit and yeah, on occasion, depending how thick the ice is, I'm not clean on the sweep either.
colonative is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2010, 08:02 AM   #3 (permalink)

I bhave thwe same auger...try to change the blades..and make sure there on right
ZachG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2010, 08:31 AM   #4 (permalink)