New Guy - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2010, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Guy

Just getting into ice fishing. Primarily fishing for Rainbows, NE Colorado local lakes mostly, bigger fish trips to Antero, Wolford, 11 Mile. What would you reccomend for line weight and type? Also, any basic lure / fly's / bait suggested? Any basic books or internet references? Thank you.
iahwkco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-13-2010, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: New Guy

I am by no means an expert bu I have 4lb mono on my rods and have never broke off even with some larger fish, just be sure your drag is dialed down. As far as bait for bows, i like salmon eggs and wax worms, drives them crazy where I go.

For a good reference you are already in the right place, there are a ton of great tips on this site so just do your home work and ask questions.
dshroyer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2010, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)

Definitely hang out on these forums, but I have also been picking up all kinds of pointers on Youtube lately. Nothing beats time on the ice though. Don't be afraid to ask questions, even if they seem kinda stupid. Guess how we found out the answers?

Adam
Old 01-14-2010, 09:03 AM   #4 (permalink)

welcome. go with little jigs Ratsos, Ratfinkies, tubes, and so on. I think 4lb is fine. Once you start targeting bigger fish like Macs. Pike, Eyes, and so on you will probably need to go bigger. For trout locate 10'-15' of water. Fish close to bottom. That should be a good start. get a couple in and maybe change things up a bit. Use wax worms, meal worms, salmon eggs, crawlers, or other general bait. Have fun out there! If you go post up a report or two and let everyone know how you are doing!

Jim
baetisrun1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2010, 09:24 AM   #5 (permalink)

Welcome to the forum!!