Got a Renzetti Vise! - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2006, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Got a Renzetti Vise!

Ok, now how do I use it? Does anyone know a good website that discusses tying with a rotary vise? Thanks, Bill
fishhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-28-2006, 11:37 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Got a Renzetti Vise!

I'm no expert tyer but the way I use mine goes like this . . .

Any material that wraps around the hook (chenille, hackle, ribbing, etc) is where the rotary function shines. Tie in your material, throw a half-hitch around the hook about where you expect to finish your material wraps, and hang the bobbin off the bobbin hanger directly out in front of the hook eye. Hold the material in one hand (or with hackle pliers) and turn the rotary handle to make your wraps.

I love it for leeches and buggers, also hackle-intensive dries like stimulators.

have fun,

TP
troutpocket is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2006, 11:42 AM   #3 (permalink)

Well that sounds easy enough! I imagine that the thread continues to turn around the hook as you turn it? Also, I heard that there was a great method for applying dubbing to the thread using a rotator, something that is more precise than pinch dubbing, but I can't seem to locate it here. Any help? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-28-2006, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)

do a google search for "dubbing loop"

I can't explain it as well as the diagrams.

TP
troutpocket is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2006, 09:54 PM   #5 (permalink)