beginner fly tying kits? - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2007, 01:33 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default beginner fly tying kits?

hey all, any thoughts or advice on the beginner fly tying kits that are out there? i have zero tying experience and am interested in getting a start learning some simple patterns. seems there's some stuff out there in the 75-100 dollar range online and ebay and whatnot. thanks
scott t is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-15-2007, 06:25 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: beginner fly tying kits?

Scott, You would be better off taking lessons from Tak ( Angler's Roost Ft. Collins) or someone like him. He will steer you to better tools of the trade. There are look a like whip finishers out there and only one is worth buying. Buying the right tools keeps you from quitting due to frustration. If anything, if you live in the Denver area go visit Charlie's Fly Box in Arvada. Charlie is the best and would never steer you wrong. Buy the right tools from the start and you'll be glad later.

Getting started isn't cheap. As time goes by, buy a little at a time, and you'll be set.

Don't forget to go to the fly tying demos in the winter you'll learn a lot, and meet the nicest people.
bigtree is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-15-2007, 07:00 AM   #3 (permalink)

If your near the springs I'm sure I can sit down with you and show you how to get started, been at it 12 years, by no means the best, but I have taught a few of my friends. The thing that always gets one of my latest friends is that I show him the "other way" to tie the same fly that is easier for him. Are you near the springs?
koldkut is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-15-2007, 10:27 AM   #4 (permalink)