New to fishing - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2014, 08:11 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New to fishing

I am looking at starting fishing. I used to fish when I was a kid. But I have not in years. I bought one of those Shakespeare combo packs that has a few goldish looking lures. I have no idea what they are for or how to use them. Heck I am not even sure on the name of it. I know I sound like a loser, but I spent most of my life behind a desk and now I am a trucker.

Being a truck driver I do not get much time to do anything. To get started in Colorado Springs do you think that places like Quail Lake or even Prospect Lake are a good place to learn?

Also, do you think it is possible to just teach myself or do you folks have any pointers?
r3v3r is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-23-2014, 08:55 AM   #2 (permalink)

r3v3r,

If you want to go fishing sometime, just let me know when you are free on the weekend. PM me and we can arrange a time. Myself, I am a spinning person who is trying to learn the nuances of flyfishing. While not the most experienced on here, I can teach you some basics to get started.
muninoel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2014, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)

Also, I work right next to Quail Lake at the Honeywell facility, and last week I saw a guy with a 25 or so inch rainbow trout that looked like it went at least 6 or 7 lbs. It was stocked (along with Prospect) with some 20-inch trout last year, so anything that survived is getting up there in size. Quail Lake is home to other species as well, such as bass, crappie, etc so you never know what you might pull out of there. Myself, I pulled a couple of 18-inch trout out of there about a month ago, and promptly put them back for others to catch.
muninoel is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-23-2014, 09:51 AM   #4 (permalink)