Considering a new fly rod... - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2014, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Considering a new fly rod...

I am starting the research on a new fly rod. I am new to fly fishing and right now have an Orvis Clearwater 8'6" 5wt with a Ross flystart reel. I am thinking about a shorter 3wt to hit the smaller streams close to home like Bear Creek, waterton, and Boulder creek. Anyone have any suggestions or input?

Any advice on where to start when buying a new rod is welcome. I am thinking this rod will get the most use as I start taking half days to hit up some of the creeks I have already listed. I am really thinking of dumping my money into the rod and using my current reel with it although I will be wanting a nice reel down the road as well.

So, I think I like that weight but what about length? 7' seems a little short, 8'6" seems a little long. Do they make them in like an 8' or 7'6"?

Give me input guys.
NymphoStage is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-27-2014, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)

What about this:

http://www.wright-mcgill.com/fly-fis...n-5xe-fly-rods

I have the 3wt paired with a reddington drift:

http://www.redington.com/fly-fishing-reels/drift/

It was my first set up and I've caught a TON of different species of fish on it in the past few years. I'm not much of a trout guy though. I like the set up but might not be experienced enough to comment on specifics.
fishslap is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2014, 10:42 AM   #3 (permalink)

Here's my humble opinion. I don't fish Boulder, but I can speak for Bear and Clear and am familar with Waterton and none call for a short rod, so a 8 or 8.5 would be fine in my opinion.

If you plan on fish overgrown brushy streams in the mountain, I know a few in South Park and short 7ft rod would be an advantage in the brush.