Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

Superline and Spinners

2K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  Pete-G 
#1 ·
For those of you who use superlines and inline spinners. Do you attach the line directly, or do you use a mono/floro leader? I worry that the fish see the line, but maybe it's not important with spinners like it is with flies.

#2 ·
Once you get use to using the superlines, you'll never go back to using twisted up mono again. I have been using Fireline for the last 7/8 years, and have it on every pole I use (couple for jigging, couple for casting, couple for catfishing, couple for trolling, you get the point). I have never found it to make a difference in fish catching, even when I was with other fisherman using mono and fluorocarbons.
The trick with superlines is that you have to use your drag system differently. Due to the non stretch of Fireline, you need to set your drag a little liter. There are times when I have my drag set to the point that Fish that hit when I'm trolling will make the drag squel (sp).
You (and you probable know this) will spend more money at the start with Fireline, but in the end like 8 years) the cost will equal out, with a lot less frustration.
Hope this out help,
catfish_al

#3 ·
Doesn't Fireline require special reels? My dad says he tried that stuff on a regular bait casting reel and the line is flat (not round) and would easily bury itself under itself. When you tried to cast again the lure would come to a sudden stop because the line would get stuck and not come out.

Anyone else had this trouble? Maybe I'm thinking of a different line, but I swear he said Firewire was the flat line.

#4 ·
FishnPhil said:
Doesn't Fireline require special reels?  My dad says he tried that stuff on a regular bait casting reel and the line is flat (not round) and would easily bury itself under itself.  When you tried to cast again the lure would come to a sudden stop because the line would get stuck and not come out.