Fishing Line - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2006, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Fishing Line

'I am a MONO guy but I don't know if its because I like it or because I don't know any better so my friends please enlighten me what are the advantages and disadvantages for mono, braid, hybrid, fluorocarbon.

Thanks in advance
Advertisement

Old 09-14-2006, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

Send a message via MSN to earplug Send a message via Yahoo to earplug
Default Re: Fishing Line

I was a mono guy too. Then I started to use some braid. The more I used mono and braid and figured the cost of old line and the ease of handling braid I have changed most of my reels to braid.
I have some braid that is six years old, on its 3rd reel. Use a bit of leader material and the braid will last for years.
I do use mono for my 4 lb set up.
Old 09-15-2006, 10:55 AM   #3 (permalink)

I have been using flurocarbon (Berkley vanish) for the past 3 or 4 years and have been pretty happy with it. I have had some problems with line twist. i was reading another post about ice line for ultra light set up. Ive never heard about it. Does anyone have any info on it?
nodrog is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-15-2006, 11:06 AM   #4 (permalink)

For me it all depends on what, where and when for me.
Mono I use on mountain lakes and stream do to the clearer waters
Braided I use on the bigger warm water lakes
Fire line I use for Eye's, Northerns, Ling and Lakers through the ice.
ling reader is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2006, 12:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mr. Ed

I use braided line on all of my level wind/casting reels. Just a habit I picked up from old timers who used to use cat gut.