Largemouth Tackle Recommendations - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2018, 11:01 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Largemouth Tackle Recommendations

Howdy!

I'm an avid fisherman so I know you guys wont give up any major secrets, and Im not asking for any. I am originally from Texas and Bass fished all my life. I've been fishing here for the last 3 months with mixed results, just carpet bombing all the local lakes and ponds which according to CPW are low fishing pressure and I go by scenery in the water (vegetation, trees, logs the whole nine yards), but this is what Im used to in Texas. I've used spinners, spoons, plastic swim baits, powerbaits, and some jig heads with custom skirts.

Im just wondering if I need to basically learn to Bass fish all over again, In my mind a Bass is a Bass no matter where you are, so all the tricks and hidden knowledge you posses should be the same? No?

Im just looking for a few tips on types of tackle (rig style also) most commonly used here, the only info I can find is sparse. I have locations where I know there are Bass, the water is just to perfect to not, now to start rippin some lips on these boogers.

Thanks!

Robbie
Texarodan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-22-2018, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)

Welcome aboard!
Lots of crawdads and shad in this part of the country. Try some brown tubes or shad pattern swimbaits. Check regs in relation to scented/unscented for any given lake... good luck!
ghostman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2018, 02:21 PM   #3 (permalink)

check out denverbassmasters.com

Not sure if you have ever been a member of a Bass club before but I would highly recommend it. Bass fishing here is definitely different than what you are used to in just about every way imaginable.
Advertisement

Old 06-23-2018, 09:00 PM   #4 (permalink)

Thanks!
Old 06-24-2018, 08:24 PM   #5 (permalink)