Swimbaits? - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2007, 10:46 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Swimbaits?

Anyone had any success with these? I have been experimenting with them now for three years with not much to show for * I have dozens of different sizes and brands and they all have pretty much have sucked! I caught a few small walleye and bass on a 4" Storm Swim Shad and Pike on the 5" and 6" model, buts thats it. Besides Pike aren't real particular when they are snappin! The inexpensive Storm models have done as well as the expensive Castiacs?

This year I have kept a journal at home like many on this site have suggested. All season I have had a jerkbait rod in my hand and a heavier MH 7' spinning rod rigged with a Swimbait. So far it is X-Raps 178 Eye's, 5 smallies and 3 trout, to 0 for the swimbaits.

Last night was a classic example for me. I fished 4 1/2 hours off the dam at Aurora till closing time. I threw out a slip bobber and leech and then started casting. I had 5" Berkley Swimshad on the heavy rod and my usual Purple Ghost X-Rap on the other. I had decided I would fish the swimbait all night and go for one strike! I also threw the X-Rap every 10 casts or so just to see if they prefferred it? Nothing on either. Most of the Eye's at Aurora are now schooled up in deep water and the spring shallow bite seems to be waning out there? But I thought I would get my usual flurry as it got dark. But not last night. Now I happen to know Zman hooked a nice Wiper about a week ago on a swimbait but lost it. He usually looks over at me when I pull out the swimbait rod and smiles (like this idiot will never learn). But he even experiments with them also.

Anyway, has anyone caught anything besides Pike on these? Am I wasting my time?
Neal/CO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2007, 11:15 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Swimbaits?