Chatfield Walleye night fishing tips? - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2007, 11:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Chatfield Walleye night fishing tips?

Full moon, finally getting confident enought with the boat that I thought I'd try night fishing. I've never done it before but fishing should be better cause Walleys have those big eyes and hunt at night, right? Slow trolling Lindy rigs/leechs along the face of the dam? Trolling floating Rapallas instead? Twister tail jigs tipped with minnow heads at Massey Draw? Any tips greatly appreciated!
albow is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-30-2007, 02:56 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Chatfield Walleye night fishing tips?

I am fairly new to Walleye fishing and have only made one trip down to Chatfield but I'll share what I know.

There is a raised road bed in the middle of the lake, and the people will slow troll lindy rigs back and forth across the road. They seem to pick fish up on the edges of the road where it creates a small drop off. We also tried fishing with bobbers over on the West side in the weedbeds. From what I understand, the Walleyes will cruise the weedbeds at night. Other than that, you can try throwing jerk baits against the dam too.

We didn't get any Walleyes, but caught quite a few Smallies there.
Elkaholic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2007, 08:18 AM   #3 (permalink)

Use big stickbaits with rattles up shallow right now.
Neal/CO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-30-2007, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)