Looking for a new reel - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2008, 09:07 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Looking for a new reel

I was at Sportsman's Warehouse the other day asking about reels. I told the guy that I was looking for an all around type reel - I mainly fish on the bottom/bobber and trying to get into lures.. All from the shore.. I would not like to be limited on the type of fish I can catch (not sure if that matters from one reel to the other)..

I have done some searching on this site - but again, I'm new to this stuff (always bought cheap)..

He suggested the PFlueger Cetina Baitcaster 7:1 gear ratio.. My problem is he said it works better with heavy line - and told me not to go below 10lb test. But an earlier post about me not catching fish - one comment was about my line - it may be too heavy - try to stick around 6lbs..

He also said these type reels take some getting used to because of back lash or something? How difficult are they?

So any suggestions on these types of reels - or any reels.. I really like the look of these, I have always used spinning reels in the past.. But now that I found this website - hopefully I dont have to buy something just because I like the look of it.

Brett
Raist23 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-04-2008, 09:16 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Looking for a new reel

Unless you're going to concentrate on bass fishing, I'd stay away from the baitcasters and pick up a nice spinning reel...I'm sure kodiak can tell you which models he likes in your price range...

Did you get my PM on 11 mile?
hobiecat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2008, 09:19 AM   #3 (permalink)

I can't believe im going to say this but I agree with Hobie(Did hell freeze over and pig's started to fly)

A good spinning reel is hard to beat. Id go talk with the guys at Gander and see what they can put you into.
[me=Jay] [/me]