Newbie here, a few quick questions - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2009, 06:50 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Newbie here, a few quick questions

I am thinking about taking up a little fishing in my spare time here in Eagle County this year, my condo backs up the the Eagle River in Eagle-Vail... I have no real experience other than some bass fishing back home years ago..

without getting all types of hardcore into it, just wondering what types of bait and technique and other advice you guys have for fishing out my back door this summer, im probably just gonna get some cheap rod from WalMart to get started..... I assume technique is the key to success, as it is with Snowboarding and Golf also.
Blake Mile is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-16-2009, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Mayor

Default Re: Newbie here, a few quick questions

Welcome to the forum! The Eagle is a darn good trout stream. Have you considered a starter fly rod? My dad has a condo in west vail, and we have caught a lot of fish on Gore Creek and the Eagle. There's tons of great fishing very close. Maybe the Eagle area guys can chime in, they know way more than I do about that area.

Anyway, welcome aboard...

BHR
Old 02-16-2009, 11:52 PM   #3 (permalink)

I would recommend a cheap fly rod package. Sure you can catch fish with a spinning rod and lures but once you catch your first fish on the fly it may just change your life I have never fished that river but have driven by it a lot, I would say a 4 or 5 weight rod with weight foward floating line and just a generic assortment of flies from the local fly shop would have you well on your way to getting hooked! Just stop in the local fly shop and tell them you are new to it and I;m sure they would be willing to get you set up and show you the basics as long as you spend a few bucks in the shop. Have fun good luck!