Fishing With A Dog - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2009, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Fishing With A Dog

I am fairly new to the state and try to get out fishing whenever possible. A year ago I got a Brittany pup and have found her to be a very good fishing buddy.... never cancels on me the morning of a trip and actually points fish! Yet, I have found Colorado to be very unfriendly to dog. What I mean is that there are very few placed that you can legally let your dog off a leash and even fewer that you can fish at. I have mead a few hikes into the upper part of Cheesman Canyon and found that I get away from enough people that her being off a leash isn't an issue.

Does anyone have an recommendations where I can go this time of year that I can get away from the crowds and catch a few fish with my pup?
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2009, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Fishing With A Dog

Sorry I cant help... Thought this thread was gunna be about fishing with hotdogs LOL If that were the case i may have some info for ya.
Old 03-13-2009, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)

Send a message via MSN to TroutHunter-Jerry

It is unfortunate that in our great state the laws are as strict as they are concerning dogs and leashes. I think that alot of people I met on the river should be kept on a leash! Bad manners and etique. Anyways, I don't know of too many places that allow it, but like you stated above, if you get far enough from the crowds and your pup behaves well, you could probably get away with it.
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2009, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)