Rod/Reel suggestions - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2006, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Rod/Reel suggestions

I am still new to spin fishing and don't know that much. I do know most of my gear is cheap walmart stuff. I want to get an ultralight set up but I don't want to spend alot. I still will fly fish mostly I just would like to get better equipment for when I do spin fish. Most of my stuff now is over sized, overpowered, and for some reason has 15lb test on all of it. Not alot of fun to catch stockers and the like on. I was thinking no more than $40 for the rod and reel. Any suggestions?
hatchmaster is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-02-2006, 03:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
fishinguitars

Default Re: Rod/Reel suggestions

If you can find a pflueger set up on sale...they are awesome!!! For spinning gear I have a trion set up made by pflueger and a love it!!!
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2006, 05:35 PM   #3 (permalink)

you can actually get a pretty decent setup for that kind of money if you find the right sale. Cabelas is having a good clearance sale right now...out of the nebraska store. look for a 10 or 15 series reel with a decent ball bearing count. Most manufacturers make good stuff...even in the lower end. I recommend the Mitchell Avocet Silver series reels for a decent low priced spinning reel. the 1500UL is about $25. Expensive reels are sweet but you dont always need one. As far as rods go...many makers make decent graphite rods for cheap $. find one that feels good to you that you like the action of. don't worry about the graphite modoulus (sp?) or anything. find a nice 5-6' ultralight that you dig. again, I just got a flyer in the mail from cabelas...some of their house brand rods are pretty decent, especially for the money. put some 2,4,or 6 lb test on your rig and you're set to go.