Bow mount sonar screen size - Colorado Fishing Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2012, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
RD3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 104
Default Bow mount sonar screen size

I am looking into buying a bow mount sonar and I am not sure what size to get. If you have a bow mount sonar, what would you say is the minimum screen size you would install? What would a larger screen size buy you? Thanks!
RD3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2012, 12:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9,427
Default Re: Bow mount sonar screen size

get the biggest color screen you can
__________________
c
walleye seeker is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2012, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
swimbait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,544
Default Re: Bow mount sonar screen size

^!
__________________
MAKE IT FUNKY ON THE ONE.
swimbait is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2012, 12:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
RD3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 104
Default Re: Bow mount sonar screen size

I am only going to use it for 2D. But the jump from a 5" screen to a 7" screen is big $. I am not sure if the price increase is worth the size increase for 2D. Then again, I have never used a sonar from the to know how much detail I am really looking for. Right now, I use the sonar more for depth than pinpointing fish.
RD3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2012, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
swimbait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,544
Default Re: Bow mount sonar screen size

Respectfully, any graph will show depth.

If you are going to use it to target individual fish, and I strongly suggest that you do, bigger = better.

If it a $ thing, then that is how it goes. I have a 5" screen on my boat because of $. But I will get a bigger one when this one craps out. It just plain makes a huge difference.

SS
__________________
MAKE IT FUNKY ON THE ONE.
swimbait is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2012, 11:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 481
Default Re: Bow mount sonar screen size

Quote:
Originally Posted by walleye seeker
get the biggest color screen you can
X2
__________________
Game fish are to valuable to be caught only once.
grandslam is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2012, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 67
Default Re: Bow mount sonar screen size

I have an HDS 5 (5" screen) on my bow. It works great. I have no trouble picking individual fish out. Would a bigger screen be beneficial? Most certainly, but I couldn't justify the price difference and the 5" screen still helps me catch almost as many fish as the 7" would.
lunkerpunker is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2012, 04:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 120
Default Re: Bow mount sonar screen size

You need to think about displaying sonar and GPS at the same time...just as important to stay on them once you found them. I wouldn't go less than a 7".
jignpig is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 09:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
RD3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 104
Default Re: Bow mount sonar screen size

Thanks for the feedback. I may end up with the 5" due to funds, but I will try to swing the 7". I guess I need to mull over how I will use the finder.

Another question though... What value do you think it would be to have down imaging on the bow sonar? Do you think it would be worth the hassle of having the transducer and its cable strapped to the trolling motor? Seems like the extra cable could be a pain.

Thanks gents...
RD3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2012, 10:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
swimbait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,544
Default Re: Bow mount sonar screen size

It is only worth the hassle if you intend to turn it on.

Seriously, if you are up front, fishing vertically, you want to do it. The deeper the water gets, the less it matters, but in shallow(ish) water, say less than 25 feet, it is a big difference.

I neatly bundled the excess cable with zip ties and it is no hassle at all. Just make sure to be careful when you stow or deploy the motor, as it can land on the cable and pinch it sometimes.

SS
__________________
MAKE IT FUNKY ON THE ONE.
swimbait is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Colorado Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sonar, what is on the screen? hooknline Colorado Fishing Lounge 30 08-15-2012 06:56 PM
chota size 6 wading shoes size 6 (new) yakatut Buy and Sell 0 05-02-2009 07:06 PM
Pocket Size Ice Sonar TthePikester Colorado Ice Fishing 7 11-30-2008 07:50 AM
Converting boat sonar into Ice sonar JerryD Colorado Ice Fishing 10 01-23-2008 09:36 AM
Transom mount electric....What size? riceboyz Colorado Fishing Lounge 5 08-30-2005 05:38 PM

» Forum Search
» Insurance
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.