Terrova 60/80 w/ IP... - Colorado Fishing Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2012, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,731
Default Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

Just got mine, need to get the adapter, 3 prong. Notice the eyes are small on the cable. Suggestions?
colonative is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2012, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
elpasocounty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,879
Default Re: Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

Which part has three prongs?
__________________
elpasocounty is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2012, 12:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
DonInDurango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,877
Default Re: Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

Are you talking about the three prong plug that goes on the end of the motor's power cables?

If so, then you want something like this. You just cut off the rings, strip saome insulation, and install the plug on the wires.http://www.cabelas.com/product/Marin...h-All+Products

A word to the wise though. I was hunting shallow water using mine on speed 10 yesterday and fried one of the terminals inside the plug, melted metal and plastic. It didn't kick the breakers, but still fried the plug. Luckily I was able to MacGyver a fix for the day using my charger plug.

I won't be using mine on speed 10 for extended periods from now on.




__________________
"About the only thing more secretive than a mackinaw is a mackinaw fisherman...." - Rocky Mtn News 11-4-08
DonInDurango is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-11-2012, 06:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11,176
Default Re: Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

I looked it up, and the Terrova can draw a maximum of 56 amps...So, you're going to need a plug that can handle up to 56 amps for your Terrova. Otherwise you'll melt it under maximum load...For example, what happened to Don under load. The one in Don's link will only handle 40 amps...not beefy enough for the Terrova.

You want to go with a 60 amp plug and you want a 40 amp breaker if only running 8 gauge wire ..you may trip it under load if that's the case ...or a 60 amp plug.. preferred...using 6 gauge wire.. Which Terrova recommends. You might only have eight gauge wire if you were previously using a 12 volt system...check it out...You should run 6 for your Terrova. So...6...60...60.

Here's a 60 amp plug and receptacle...

http://www.amazon.com/Battery-Tender...341089&sr=1-29

And the 60 amp breaker...Want to protect that investment.

http://www.amazon.com/MinnKota-MKR-1...ef=cm_cmu_pg_t





hobiecat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2012, 08:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,731
Default Re: Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

Thanks Don and Dave...exactly what I was after.
colonative is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2012, 09:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
DonInDurango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,877
Default Re: Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

Thanks, Dave. I wonder why it wouldn't have tripped the 45 amp breakers on the boat-side wiring before melting the plug??

I don't know what type of female receptacle your boat has, Mark, but so far this morning I have not been able to find a 60 amp plug that will work with the Marinco type female receptacle built into my boat.




__________________
"About the only thing more secretive than a mackinaw is a mackinaw fisherman...." - Rocky Mtn News 11-4-08
DonInDurango is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2012, 09:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11,176
Default Re: Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonInDenver
Thanks, Dave. I wonder why it wouldn't have tripped the 45 amp breakers on the boat-side wiring before melting the plug??
No problem. It tripped the 40 amp socket instead...melted it...before it could trip the 45s. Your plug was kinda like those old screw in fuses you used to find in homes...or that you find on your furnace...the 40 amp was the weakest link in the system...so it went first like a fuse.
hobiecat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2012, 09:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
DonInDurango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11,877
Default Re: Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

Okay. That makes sense. Thanks, Dave.

Now to find a 60 amp plug......





__________________
"About the only thing more secretive than a mackinaw is a mackinaw fisherman...." - Rocky Mtn News 11-4-08
DonInDurango is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2012, 12:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4,731
Default Re: Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonInDenver
Okay. That makes sense. Thanks, Dave.

Now to find a 60 amp plug......

Mine's a Marinco 3 leg not 4. Guess I'll have to cruise down to Great Lakes and ask them too. I'll print out Hobie's stuff and take with.
colonative is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2012, 02:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11,176
Default Re: Terrova 60/80 w/ IP...

This may be the simplest and least costly solution.

http://www.justanswer.com/boat/6heq4...motor-use.html



Are you running 4 wires to the plug, and using the jumper in the plug? Or are you running 2 wires to the plug, and jumping at the battery?
Customer replied 6 days and 4 hours ago.
I am running two wires to plug and jumping at batteries.

Steve

Expert: Oldnewenglandmarine replied 6 days and 4 hours ago.
Is the jumper in the plug in place, or did you remove it?
Customer replied 6 days and 4 hours ago.
The jumper I assume is that metal strip in the plug. No I did not remove it, should I.
Accepted Answer


Expert: Oldnewenglandmarine replied 6 days and 4 hours ago.
Yes, pull it out.

I had to make 2 calls on this one to get actual numbers, because for whatever reason in all their logic they don't give you technical data in the manuals.

I called minn kota, on your terranova, max amp draw is 57 amps.

Called Marinco. With the jumper in place, the plug is rated for 40 amps. You can see thats a problem.
With the jumper out, should handle 70+ amps. (is what they told me anyways)

Start by pulling the jumper and give it a go. You should not be burning up any more plugs unless there is something actually wrong with the trolling motor, and it is drawing to many amps.

Post back with questions
Regards

Here's the number for Marinco...Phone 800-307-6702
hobiecat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Colorado Fishing Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
minn kota terrova us2 80 lb discloco Buy and Sell 1 08-04-2011 08:49 AM
minn kota terrova us2 80 lb discloco Buy and Sell 6 07-22-2011 08:38 AM
Minn Kota trolling motor----V2 or Terrova? brown-time Colorado Fishing Lounge 13 05-12-2011 08:27 AM
Minn Kota Co-Pilot for Terrova dave110man Buy and Sell 2 02-07-2010 09:13 PM
Minnkota Terrova Autopilot Copilot? tal0362 Colorado Fishing Lounge 33 11-18-2007 06:14 PM

» Forum Search
» Insurance
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL3
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.