Trout Fishing??? Beginner here - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2006, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Trout Fishing??? Beginner here

First off Hello to everyone on the board. I'm new to fishing but it seems that i'm "hooked" lol. I have a few questions since i am very new to this i have been sticking with smaller lakes to go fishing and practicing different bait and set-ups. I have gone to Bear Creek lake NO LUCK and also i headed up to ST. Vrains Park caught a couple small trout and a larger Gizzard Shad. My question is where should a beginner go? what should i use to be more effective bait wise? and should i stick to live rather than plastic when possible?Thanks for any help!! also i dont only want to fish for Trout so any other tips for different fish would be great too!!!
lx470guy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2006, 10:49 AM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Trout Fishing??? Beginner here

I asked about the same question a few days ago. Here the link to that posting. It will give you an Idea about some of the bait to use.

https://www.coloradofisherman.com/for...p?topic=6737.0
Old 03-29-2006, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mr. Ed

Those are some pretty broad questions that would be tough to address in a single reply. Different techniques have different effects depending on the body of water, the time of the year, etc., etc. I would say go through the forum and the fishing reports as best you can to pick up on techniques. If there is a particular body of water you are looking to target, click on the search button and type in the name of the lake or river - you should get some pretty good reports! If it's a particular species - use the search feature for that species. There's a lot of good info in these threads!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2006, 10:57 AM   #4 (permalink)