another new guy to Colorado - Colorado Fishing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2006, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default another new guy to Colorado

Hello everyone.

I stumbled upon this site earlier today and had to set up my account. I am new to fishing in Colorado. I am from Wisconsin and only know Bass fishing so trout have so far been a bit of a challenge to me. But thanks to some tips I picked up on this site I think I will have better luck.

I am a western sloper and find myself spending alot of time fishing the Rifle area.

I look forward to sharing some success stories on here soon.
krausen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-29-2006, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: another new guy to Colorado

Trout are easy, they don't seem as finicky as the warm water species. You'll have to stick to the lakes untill after runnoff, so learn the art of powerbaiting for stocked trout (slip weight, small hook, beverage). The high mountain streems will clear up the quickest. around july start backpacking into some of the remote streems and lakes around you. These fish can be tricky, don't let them see you coming. Leave the powerbait at home, you will want small spinners (panther martins or mepps, 2 smalest sizes), flys (grasshopper, ant, caddis, behind a bobber on spin-tackel or learn to fly fish), and maby small spoons (smalest castmasters or daredevils). you can always float worms too. Once the colorado clears up, start fishing it with larger spinners, rappalas or float worms (look up some posts by TroutFishingBear on floating crawlers, he seems to be the king.)

Keep only what you'll eat, don't leave crap on the ground, and welcome to Colorado! Good luck-
bobwall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2006, 10:55 PM   #3 (permalink)

Welcome and I agree with bob wall who? bob wall
Big_Blue is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links