Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the East Slope and am having a tough time finding a place to fish like on the West Slope that doesnt have 1 million worm drowners on the bank or is close enough to get out after work.

Do you have to be in a boat or float tube to do well at 11 mile and Spinny. I would love to try to catch a pike and some of those nice trout in an evening.

Thanks for your help guys.

Terry

·
Registered
2,180 Posts
Not much experience at Spinny but when I went with some buddies we just waded out to waist deep and were able to land a few.

Wind blows from 1100 am til darn near dark(what I have been told). I would not find it to be much fun in a tube fighting the wind, but that is me. FYI, I do not have much experience in a tube.

Did not fish 11 mile but was told that you can get into pike from shore(april time frame). Don't know if that changes with the change of seasons.

I am sure someone on here can be more help than I, but you know as much as I do now about those two res's.

·
Registered
3,710 Posts
Spinney can be great from a tube, but it takes time to figure it out (what lake doesn't?).

I have seen many people wading there. The wind at both lakes is a B.

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
waders can help you in the mile or spinney. you can also find a spot to cast at the mile for pike from shore. having been out in a boat or knowing the lake, with lake map will help. spinney can get asses to elbows, 11mile can too but you can find places to get away from the sheeple at the mile.

·
Registered
25 Posts
I did 11 mile last Saturday on one of those rented Lund's they have there. Caught a few rainbow but as soon as the wind came in we spent more time holding on then doing any fishing...

When that wind hits it makes any fishing a real *****.

·
Registered
2,758 Posts
Antero has fish. Eleven Mile was on fire today, at least on the troll. Five of diamonds got a work out!:cool:

·