Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Took the boat out Sunday to Boyd for a shake down testing trip and to register it. The new to me motor ran like a top, I love a 4 stroke!
There were about 5,000 other boats out there, I will never take the boat out to a popular lake on a weekend again unless it's crappy weather out to keep the jackasses away. I'm still learning how to troll and just fish from a boat in general. I lost a fish because my drag was set to tight for trolling, but I did land a nice crappie on a X-rap to beat a skunking.
Fishing from a boat is going to be fun this year but I just need some more practice, confidence and decent electronics.

·
Registered
7,407 Posts
All said jackasses that own and run their boats pay the same fees as you do to run your boat on said water. Nice Crappie.

·
P I K E
10,112 Posts
All said jackasses that own and run their boats pay the same fees as you do to run your boat on said water. Nice Crappie.
No they don't there slimee!!! They don't need the habitat stamp to pleasure cruise or wash us fishermen out with their tidal wakes!!! HUG AN ANGLER!!! :biggrin1:>:D:biggrin1:

·
Registered
471 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I agree that everyone has the same privilege to use public lakes for recreation and fun, but after seeing people being dragged on tubes through exposed brush piles, boats hauling ass in no wake zones and seeing how the water got turned into chocolate milk looking dirty water. I'd rather go somewhere else or on a weekday for better fishing conditions.

As a somewhat new boater, I was really turned off by the experience I had because of the lack respect/ awareness that the majority of boaters had overall, but I wasn't surprised by that. I can't imagine that the half dozen sailboaters out there had much fun in all that mess.

I was just glad my boat ran well and I caught a nice fish. If I look at the positive side, it was a good day.

·
Registered