Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a Michigan resident and avid fly fisher. A friend who lives in the Denver area and wants to get started in fly fishing has invited me out to visit him this year. The plan is to do either day trips to streams closer to Denver or a few multi-day trips to locations farther away. I thought I'd ask for some advice on where and when to spend our time. I can travel anytime from June through August for this trip.

I have a wide variety of rods and am comfortable with nymphs, drys and streamers. So I think we'd be all set for tackle.

Can you please suggest:

- a few locations to consider near (within a couple hours) Denver
- a few locations to consider for a 2-3 day trip from Denver
- in general, what month of the three I mentioned would be best?

If I could get a few ideas from you guys about where and when I could follow up with local fly shops for info on rods weights, fly patterns, etc.

Thanks for you help.

·
Registered
16,616 Posts
Use pontoons or float tubes and hit Antero , Spinney, or 11-mile reservoirs. Large strong rainbows, cut bows, and pike if you wish. The tailwaters are to see and be seen, if you want to catch large aggressive fish go to these lakes. Any of those months are fine.
Im sure someone with the proper flailing knowledge will chime in-

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Slayer. My friend had suggested a day on Spinney, so that agrees with what you are saying. I'm more of a wade fisherman so want to include some river time as well.

·
Registered
5 Posts
If you stay in the South Park area for a few days you could fish Spinney, Dream Stream, Tomahawk area and then even 11 Mile Canyon. All are within 15-35 minutes of each other and offer a different setting.

·
Registered
1,703 Posts