Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum but am always creepin looking to learn new things about fishing. I'm new to catfishing and fairly new to fishing in general. We have been going to the Adams county fairgrounds fishing the big lake every Sunday for the past month and a half. I have tried almost everything worms, chicken liver, chicken breast marinated with anise, prepared dip bait, and even fake chicken liver but I can never get a bite. I've seen John Finney from carp quest out there going for carp but reeling in cats instead. I tried pack bait hoping to get them on that just a bunch of hungry bream nibbled it clean. Im thinking about trying either minnows or goldfish this week. But is there anything else I can try or should be doing?

·
Registered
2,239 Posts
Maybe try a different fishery? Haha I dunno man I've been trying for cats lately too and it's been challenging to say the least. Got a couple small channels on cut shad but that's about it. Good luck!

·
Registered
2,235 Posts
First don't use gold fish... I'm not the best cat angler in the world but if you're fishing the right bodies of water you shouldn't have too much trouble getting into cats right now. Especially as the water temps come down a little. My favorite cat spot back in the day was Big Thompson ponds if I didn't get a hit in 20 minutes I'd move until I found fish.

Adams county fairgrounds gets hit pretty hard.... I used to catch cats consistently out there ten years ago, but now I park there and hit the river for carp.

If you hit a few small ponds in the area you'll find them.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah I might go somewhere else but the thing is I know there are cats in there big ones too I've seen 15 pounders getting pulled out of there. And for the goldfish are they illegal in to use in Colorado? I heard from a friend that they were great bait for bass and catfish.

·