Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know James does. I got one for my birthday-its a sit on top model (SOT) and I love it. Had it out about a dozen times and its just perfect for small lakes and ponds. Alot of you guys who wish you had a boat should look into these. I've bought new paddles which are cupped and lighter and now I can move even faster and today I bought some neoprene stockingfoot waders so I can "yak" no matter how cold it gets. Plus its real good exercise-gonna get my 6 pak abs back!! ::)

I got a nice boat with all the bells and whistles but this yak thing is addictive-it puts you right on the water so you're up close and personal with the fish.

Just wondered if anyone else besides James and me is doing this?

F

·
0 Posts
i would love to ...how much do they cost ..and im a big guy 6'5 250lbs do they make them for bigger people

·
Registered
1,887 Posts
I do and I've been doing it for 8 years. You can't beat it for smaller waters and anything less than class III rapids (BTW I fish out of a green Dagger Delta that cost me $450 used with paddle). They do make them for bigger people, mine is rated to 450 lbs, so I guess it depends on how mush gear you take. I also have a little portable Hummingbird fish finder for mine that works pretty darn well. An added bonus is that if you hook into a really big fish, you can just let him (or her) drag you around with the boat acting like a drag. From what I've read it only takes about 6 lbs of force to move it.
Also, the boats aren't hard o paddle long distances once you get used to it. I've gone up to 10 miles in a day trip, but the boats really shine on places like Quincy and Evergreen. I

·
Registered
2,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #4