Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Colorado in 2005. Tried ice fishing at Monument Lake (in Monument) in December and I love it!

My question is: Is it always completely different every time you go out? Monument Lake is a small lake with only stocker rainbows in it, but it seems like different baits/jigs, different locations on the lake and different depths of presentation are effective each time I go out. My experiences have ranged from 6 good size fish in 1 1/2 hours to one pan sized in 4 hours.

Inevitably, if I'm stuck in one of those outings with little or no fish, I talk to another fisherman on the lake whose reeling 'em in faster than he can spin his reel handle and he's using a bait I don't have and presenting it at a depth I'm not fishing at.

Are there rules of thumb - like, if the water temp is X, then the fish will be at Y feet, or they hit meal worms in the morning, but plastic skirt crappie jigs in the afternoon???

I guess the very fact that it's so unpredictable is what makes ice fishing so great. Maybe you just have to try different things everytime out until you find what's working that day...

·
Premium Member
4,229 Posts
You are right on the money when it comes to fishing in Colorado. One things that makes a difference is many of the waters get tons of pressure so the fish are pretty educated. Frequent tactic changes is pretty normal.

If you get the answers to your questions, I would love to have them also. Lord knows I have my share of problems catching fish. (Being cursed does not help either)

Dan

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
FH - how thick is the ice on Monument Lake? I've seen 1-2 guys everyday out there the last couple weeks, just haven't had time to try it. I'm hoping sometime this week?

·
Premium Member
10,399 Posts