Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the thought of baitcasters. I want to try them but I am not sure if they are worth the hassle. I have two of them I got from a fishin buddy today, he said I could have them because he was done @#$%ing with them if you catch my drift. So the question of the hour is YES there worth it or NO there not and why?

·
Registered
6,797 Posts
yes, but it depends on what your wanting to do. bait casters do excell in some areas. although you could fish your entire life with a spinning real and not miss much atleast in fresh water

·
Registered
3,666 Posts
i like a baitcaster for flinging heavier baits and i also like it for bottom bouncing when trolling as to let line out all you do is push the button. just my preference. i don't really use them for anything else, still haven't mastered using one with light lures yet.

·
Registered
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What would you say about bird nesting? Practice practice pratice? I have tried to cast a few times tonight and either dont go anywere or birdnest. Havent found inbetween yet or  is there an inbetween?

·
Registered
9,266 Posts
If you do get one i'd practice with something heavy and work your way down. Adjusting your tention as you go. I learned using pretty heavy weights in CANADA casting roe bags for kings. After a few days it was no thing. Dont let anyone tell you you'll never backlash once you getit down. Even the pros will BL sometimes.

[me=Jay_In_Parker] [/me]

·
Registered
127 Posts
with practice you will improve I have been throwing one for years and I still have casting issues once in awhile. lol

·
Registered
3,666 Posts