Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all.

I am relatively new to the area and even newer to the board.  All the posts on this site about bass and panfish have got me thinking.  I have bee fly fishing for several years, but have stuck mainly to rivers and streams fishing for trout.  I'd like to try to catch a few panfish and/or bass on my fly rod this year.  Since I have never tried this before, I was wondering if anybody could give me any suggestions on where to go and what to use.  I live in Golden and would like to find somewhere relatively close to here.   I know there are several ponds/reservoirs along Highway 58 between here and Boulder, but don't know if any of them hold fish.  I've heard Bear Creek is good for smallies, but am unaware of anything else there.

Any suggestions would be helpful.  I tie my own flies so if anyone has favorite recipe that would be great as well.

Thanks in advance for the help.  I hope to be able to return the favor in the future.

Tight lines!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Another note--

I understand that people sometimes don't want to talk about personal fishing haunts in a public forum. If that is the case and you are still willing to share any info, feel free to email me as well.

Thanks.

·
Registered
246 Posts
Just to start, Hwy. 93 goes to Boulder from Golden; Hwy. 58 goes toward Denver..... From Golden, take Hwy. 58 east, merge into I-70 and then take the Ward Rd. Exit. You have five lakes to choose from. I would start w/ West lake; it has a lot of bluegills and bass that like to go after the fly. Down stream Tabor, Bass, and Prospect lakes can be difficult, but hold fish. Warning, have your license in order; I’ve been checked 4 times this year alone at West lake. Once you get a few on the line and want to go after something bigger; cross over I-70 to Ward Rd. SWA. This is a tough nut to crack, but some HUGE bass live in this lake.

·
Registered