Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, new here, but I am gearing up for ice season and I am having a hard time deciding on which ice line to use. I am new to ice fishing (2nd season) and I generally have a bunch of kids with me so I target wherever has easy, dumb fish (so far only stocker trout). I used Berkley microice last season and was not too impressed. I am looking at 2 lb. P-Line flouroclear. Does anyone have any other suggestions?

·
Registered
181 Posts
I third Trilene XL. The last couple of years I have used Gamma ESP Ice on my trout rods and it has been great. Its a thinner diameter than the XL but more expensive. Trilene XL 110yd 4lb $2.69, Gamma ESP Ice 110yd 4lb $4.95.

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
I like Stren Original in 4 or 6 pound test for trout. The clear blue fluorescent is easily seen and low vis under water. In really clear water, add a leader of P Line CX Fluoro leader.
For perch and crappie, I use 2 pound P Line CX Premium in clear blue fluorescent. For lake trout, I use 12 pound P Line 100% fluorocarbon. That will work for pike as well. Walleyes, usually six to ten pound test. Walleyes don't fight like trout but jigging rapalas swim better on heavier line than lighter.

·
Registered
648 Posts
I use 8lb xl and then i put a 12 foot leader of pline fluorocarbon 6lb on the end of that. I feel like that 8lb helps when the bigger fish are burning line out on the longs runs and the line is rubbing on the bottom edge of the ice.

·
Registered
52 Posts