Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Going to Boyd Saturday for the first time this season. I've never used bottom bouncers before. Do you tie them on then tie a lure to the bouncer or do you usually use bait behind them? Still really new to boat fishing so sorry for what is probably a dumb question.

Any news on how boyd is doing? Crappie biting yet??

Thanks!!

·
Registered
39 Posts
Yes, tie the bouncer on and then run a length of line from the bouncer to the lure. I have a lot of luck with both artificial and live bait.

Haven't been fishing yet this year. Been to darn busy. I am hoping to get out this weekend though!

·
Registered
6,797 Posts
remember you dont want to much line out or the bouncer will roll over and wont keep your bait/lure off the bottom

use enough weight to keep the line angle steep

L

·
0 Posts
I use live bait presentations particularly crawlers rigs and leeches with and without spinner rigs on bouncers. You can use minnows also. I like using other methods to get lures down to the bottom such as 3 ways or long lining with lead line or snap weights (snap wieghts are awesome).

On bouncers I prefer heavier ones to keep a steep angle on the line which I feel gives me better control and feel of the bottom. I also hold my rod instead of using rod holders (unless I'm being lazy) so I can feel the bottom. Remember, bottom bouncers are for running the bottom, not for getting lures deeper. There are other better things for that. Of course there are no rules, you can ultimately do what you want.

·
Registered
24,552 Posts
One ounce of lead for every 10 feet and try and keep the line angle at 45 degrees...

·
Registered
1,281 Posts