Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

Would you be interested in seeing a bait/tackle shop return near pueblo res?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

• Don't Care

• Total voters
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, the family is thinking of running a new bait shop by the res. Any comments our advice? Would you like to see a return of a bait shop in the area?

·
Registered
4,755 Posts
I chose don't care, not because I'm uninterested in your success, but just because I don't fish Pueblo res.

I started a bait business and ran it for several years when I was a college student, and I can say that Walleye Seeker has it right. If you get it all together you can make money at it, no doubt about that. You can't do it single handed, though, because the hours would be too long and you would burn out on it. Gotta have some help.

Good luck.

·
Registered
176 Posts
You'll always miss 100% of the shots you don't take. ~Wayne Gretzky

·
Registered
9,427 Posts
the hunters cove was a good place to get bait but that was a sporting goods store that sold bait. if he hadn't got killed in a roll over accident he would still be doing good. that is the secret of a bait store you need more than bait and fishing tackle. you also have to compete with walmart now on both the north and south. just some minnows and leaches isn't enough

·
Registered
11,176 Posts
Yep....Can't make much money just selling bait in Pueblo....People may pick up a pack or two of hooks...but don't expect them to support you with tackle sales...basically they'll only be showing up for minnows and leeches..You can find worms or crawlers anywhere.

It's a short season...May through September and rents still need to be paid from October through April. How many bait shops have failed over time in Pueblo...the answer...all of them..

·
Registered
1,257 Posts