Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for something that I can use to turn a 10' ABS/PVC tube into a rod carrier for the car. Is there anything out there that can house the reel? Security isn't the biggest issue, its just not having to break downt he rod and leave it rigged, and not looking to spend 300 or more for the rod vault type setup.

Any DIY solutions you have found useful? Google hasnt shown too much that isnt a monstrocity of PVC fittings linked together.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Bradley,

I am attaching some photos of my DIY rod vault. I'll give as much information as I can. Perhaps others will get some ideas.

First, am I correct in assuming this tube will be on the top outside of a vehicle?

I'm not an expert on PVC and such. What color is the PVC? If it's black and if it's mounted where the sun hits it, you will find the tube will warp, go back to original shape then re-warp depending on how much sun/cold it gets. I started with the black tubing but didn't like the warping so I changed to 1.5" thin wall electrical EMT conduit. They come in lengths of ten feet and are about $13 at Home Depot. All of my materials were purchased at Home Depot except the reel box, which was purchased at Sportsman's Warehouse for about $10 or so. You can lock the box.

Bradley, my other half is bellowing. I'll finish this in a bit by way of an edit.

Ok, I'm back.

Image 101 shows the box installed on two EMT conduit tubes.

You will want to close off the far end of the tube. I have two suggestions for you.

The first end cap photo shows a 1.5" gripper, which is about $5 at HD. It is a compression fitting. You slide it in the end of the EMT tube then turn the knob a few times to hold it in place.