Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a beginner with fishing but I'm learning asking questions especially to experienced anglers is the best way to learn. What's the deal with carp ? I keep hearing about them being in all the lakes but I never hear anyone fish for them. Why is that ?

·
OG LOKE
18,957 Posts
Mostly because all the other anglers are stuck on catching other species...Carp are GREAT fighters but most people don't eat them...i've caught some big carp...Chatfield has some big #@$ carp...try fishing a slip rig with corn and hold on...Carp can fight!...out east some people like to Bow hunt for carp...i have never tried this but i would love to. :)

·
Registered
24,509 Posts
Isnt the world record around 55 pounds? It is a good fish to find out how to land fish on lighter line and practice your fighting skills...

·
Premium Member
10,399 Posts
Carp are considered rough fish or trash fish.  So most anglers dont fish for them because of that.  While some cultures consider carp a delicacy in the USA they are generally considered gross.  There is a movement lately about angling for carp.  Alot of people find they fight hard, but I dont really consider it exciting fighting.  They just pull like a mule, I prefer the jumping, shaking, and runs.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Is there such a thing as a topwater lure for carp? I was out at chatty today and saw about a million of these ugly bastards jumping all around me.... some pretty good sized ones even... prob 10lb was the biggest i saw..... I tried fishing with a worm under a strike indicator.... and a worm on the bottom, but i couldnt hook up with anything..... i guess carp have a "sweet tooth" dont they? Should i try marshmellows or some ****? i dunno

·
Premium Member
10,399 Posts