Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I am looking to catch my first catfish this year.  I have been told that Cherry Creek and Bonny have some good ones.  Does anybody have some pointers on general areas.  Also, is it too cold to catch em still?  I don't want to KNOW where your bootprints are, but I hope to find em.  Any advice will help.  I am totally new to catfish and know very little.

Thanks for all your help

·
Registered
294 Posts
I caught my first last year at Chatfield in Plum Creek. Worms and Chicken Livers. This year I'm making it a priority. I also caught them on Chicken Livers in the Ponds behind the Bridge.

L

·
0 Posts
15 years ago or more, friends and I would go fish kingfisher and the inlet at Chatfield in the spring, at night after a good afternoon rain. If I remember right, our theory was that the cats would come in and feed in the heavy run-off. We caught a few cats, nothing of size. I'm not a wisker fisherman but I hear most guys say it's still too cold. ???????

·
Registered
110 Posts
its a lil too cold to be fishing them right now, i fish mine at harriman ive tried adams county too... i use worms and dough baits, and blood baits but the smell just kills me, when time comes your welcome to come fish with me, trout hunter would probably join us...

M

·
0 Posts
I agree it is def. still too cold for consitant action, although they are occasionally pulled through the ice. I have a bunch of good spots at Chatty I'd share with you...and those gravel ponds mentioned...we were fishing there last summer and an 18 pounder was pulled out...according to the ranger, I didn't witness it.

·
Registered
110 Posts
catfish are one of my favorites its just somthing about fishing at night and watching the tip of your rod tap, it just gets me wild about them...

·
Registered
2,678 Posts