Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day,

I am a new fisherman to the CO state and would like to know if anyone can give me any tips on how fish Lake Pueblo for cats. I have never fished there before and do not have a boat. I will be doing some bank fishing. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

See ya on the waters,
Mark

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you rivrunnr1. I was having some issues searching for topics. Appreciate the assistance.

·
Registered
9,427 Posts
bank fishing for cats here is mostly miss and hard to do from a boat. a few people can do it both ways but I can only think of 3 who do it well. I have been fishing pueblo for over 30 years, boat and shore and catch less than one per year

·
Registered
12,554 Posts
Yeah i've struggled for them since ive fished pueblo (a long ass time).....I have them figured out in the fall but not the spring. Even with hobie-info I fail in the spring LOL

·
Registered
11,176 Posts
The numbers of cats in Pueblo is small compared to the size of the lake. But, it holds some really large cats. Night fishing expect to get bit three or four times in about the same number of hours. Expect the cats to run 10lbs and up. I posted about spring and spawning cats, come summer try this. Look for the finger coves and set up at the mouth of the cove. Cats will run in and out of the coves during the night. They don't have to be big coves. Don't fish too far out. Keep your bait in water five to twelve feet deep. Fish at an angle away from where you're sitting..down the shoreline and keep any light off the water. I like chicken livers during the summer. Use half a liver thread the hook gently through the liver don't over thread or you'll turn it into mush. I don't use any weight and just do a gentle lob cast. Leave some slack in your line and watch for your line to move. You'll also catch some wipers as they too love chicken liver.

·
Registered