Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After fishing out of boats for many years I cannot decide which is best. Keep the batteries topped off after every trip even if it only been used for an hour or let the battery drain down and then fully charge.
Any opinions??

·
Registered
247 Posts
depending on the battery, i have read that its not a good idea to keep topping it off each time because it could develope a "memory". Meaning that over time, it only thinks it needs to work for an hour to two and not the typical because it has always been charged up after an hour to two. I run my trolling motor till it dies then recharge it.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Finally, a topic that I feel qualified to answer! In "real life" I'm an electrical engineer...

The term for completely discharging and recharging a battery is called "deep cycling".

Lead Acid type batteries do not like deep cycling. Standard car batteries can be damaged quite a bit by deep cycling. Do it too many times and your battery will stop taking a charge. Leaving your lights on is really bad for most car batteries. Some lead acid batteries are labled as "Deep Cycle", as in "Deep Cycle Marine". These batteries are more difficult to kill by deep cycling, but I wouldn't tempt fate if possible.