Colorado Fisherman Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
171 Posts
Finally, a topic that I feel qualified to answer! In "real life" I'm an electrical engineer...

The term for completely discharging and recharging a battery is called "deep cycling".

Lead Acid type batteries do not like deep cycling. Standard car batteries can be damaged quite a bit by deep cycling. Do it too many times and your battery will stop taking a charge. Leaving your lights on is really bad for most car batteries. Some lead acid batteries are labled as "Deep Cycle", as in "Deep Cycle Marine". These batteries are more difficult to kill by deep cycling, but I wouldn't tempt fate if possible.

NiCD batteries, and to a lesser extent NMHi, prefer to be deep cycled. They have a "memory effect" (which is a misleading name for the problem). Essentially, if you don't deep discharge them then they will tend to loose their ability to keep a charge. _BUT_, and this is a big _BUT_, deep discharging them incorrectly can be worse than not doing it at all. Let's say that you have a flashlight with four NiCD's in it. You "could" deep discharge it by leaving the light on for a day, but this would be bad... What happens is that each battery will have a slightly different charge in it, so as the flashlight burns down one battery will completely discharge before the others. If you work out your electrical theory stuff you can figure that the dead battery will essentially be charged IN REVERSE POLARITY by the remaining batteries. Charging in reverse polarity is a quick way to kill a NiCD or NMHi battery.