Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

This is my first post to this forum. I am new to Colorado and I am currently living north west of Denver in the Broomfield area and I am looking for some good places to go fishing.

Does anyone have any tips where I can get some good Crappie fishing in? I have a 6 year old that wants to get out and catch some fish so anything that bites is good exposure for him to get into fishing...but I am kind of a big guy and love some fried Crappie!!!

Any tips, pointers, locations, or just fishing Colorado in general will be greatly appreciated! I am looking forward to becoming a part of y'alls forum!

Ross

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
good luck. I would just try various areas. Boulder County has great fishing. People on here have lockjaw when it comes to crappie spots. and for good reason.

·
Registered
6,684 Posts
A good place to start would be this book:

You can purchase it online, or maybe even check it out at your local library.

·
Registered
5,365 Posts
Try inlets at high flows, holes and dropoffs in still water. Look up the dropshot rig and make it your friend. Fathead minnows a foot off the bottom are money.

Slip bobber and crappie jig tipped with something squirmy close to the bottom in Summer can work too.

In Texas, we caught em year round with a little yellow and white crappie jig with a 1/8 oz jighead, vertically jigging off docks with structure.

Don't know how much any of that helps, but good luck out there.

The "search" function on this site is awesome.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Great!!! Thank you all for the information...I will give it a go and let y'all know how we do!!!

Haha mattyt...I know all about how the lockjaw works when it comes to a honey hole!!! I can't say I blame people, I might be inclined to be the same way.

I will definitely be looking that book up rvinson!