Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I'm fairly new to CO fishing. I've mostly fished in NW Colorado on the Yampa. I have a family member that has recently acquired some property in the La Veta/Cuchara area and was wondering about fishing the Cuchara River. From what I've been told, there's alot of private waters on this river and can be hard to find access points. Does anyone have any helpful hints about how to fish this river successfully without having to pay a guide? Thanks!

·
Registered
301 Posts
It's lovely country and I have wished for some access, too. Maybe where the Monument Lake is? But that is on the other side of a pass, so it may not even have anything to do with Cuchara R. Flows through some ranch land, maybe I'll just walk up to the door and ask.

·
Registered
301 Posts
Cuchara

The Purgatoire is pretty, too, and goes through some public land down toward Trinidad. Last time I fished it it was full of little browns, so maybe they grew up?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Three things