Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Cabelas has a mini troll downrigger for $50.00. I was wondering what kind of downriggers you guys use and what you would recomend for this spring, or this summer. I have never used one and heard good things about them.

Any suggestions or good lakes to use them on.
Thanks

·
Registered
9,266 Posts
Im no pro on this subject although I pln on being by fall. Id go with something alittle bigger if your boat can handle it. I go 1 step above the lake troll.

Id try the "Cannon Sport-Troll" http://www.cannondownriggers.com/site/html/htmlsite/cannon/sport_troll.htm

Or heres what ill be running. Scotty No. 1050 Depthmaster: http://www.scotty.com/marine/products/product/downriggers/index.html

I got mine from this place. Alot cheaper than any other place I found. http://www.queenscreek.com/manualdownriggers1050.html

Although If you buy from BPS or Cabelas they will usally throw in a rod and 8lb weight. A great deal.

Hope this helped

[me=Jay_In_Parker] [/me]

·
Registered
3,144 Posts
I use the Cannon Uni-Troll model:

I like the telescoping boom and it really helps get them out of the way of the motor, etc. The electric versions are very nice, especially if you are fishing by yourself, but they are pretty expensive. One of the tricks is setting the line release at just the right tension, not too tight or too loose. This takes some practice (heck, I've had my downriggers for years and still have troubles ;))

As for which lakes to use them on, go DEEP. Downriggers (especially manual crank ones) are a pain in waters where the water depth fluctuates or is very shallow. I use leadcore line instead of downriggers for trolling in the 10-35' depth range with less hassle. Downriggers are best at places like Granby where the fish can be very deep and there is little chance of dragging bottom. There are many other deep lakes in the mountains, just check out the lake maps and such.