Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts
F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im somewhat new to flyfishing and was wondering what river produces the most fish for you guys ? I flyfish mostly in the spring and fall but lately ive been itchin to get out ...any suggestions on where and what to use .....I usually use the wooly buggers I tie but its alway early or late in the year and the fish arent picky .....

·
Registered
193 Posts
I hate to say it but Waterton Canyon has some decent evening fishing on Caddis just about every night. The fish arent huge but if you have the itch they definately will keep you busy....

Fish

F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ill have to check it out ....thats above chatfield res .

·
Registered
46 Posts
If you have a belly boat try getting out on one of the Pella Ponds early morn or eve. Usually some good topwater action 30 feet from shore and in for bass. Otherwise run a clouser or other baitfish imitation near cover to incite strikes. I'm in Westminster - just down the road from you. If I'm itching for nearby trout fishing I'll usually head up to Walker Ranch (South Boulder Creek below Gross Res.)

·
Premium Member
4,229 Posts
I have yet to find flyfishing easy.  So if anyone really does know of "easy" flyfishing let me know too.  I would really like to tie into some trout on the fly rod.

Dan

·
Registered
943 Posts
I THINK IT WOULD BE GREAT IF THE EXPERT FLY FISHERMAN IN THIS GROUP COULD TAKE US NOVICES AND TEACH US A LITTLE. MAYBE EVERYONE COULD DO SOMETHING SIMILAR IN THEIR FIELD OF EXPERTISE.

F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
....I guess im not new to flyfishing Im new to catching fish on a flyrod ...In early early spring when the rivers are low and water is really clear its super easy to catch fish ....On the big thompson I use griffiths gnat and midge patterns ....and for some reason I always do well with the wooly buggers i tie ....but in summer I get so caught up with bass fishin I dont go that much .....

·