Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to fly fishing and it's been frustrating. I couldn't even catch anything in Eleven Mile Canyon recently, and there were a million fish clearly visible. In one deep pool, I saw about 25 huge trout. I was bored at the time and I started goofing around-dropped a salmon egg right on the nose of the biggest fish I could see, and he didn't even flinch. I figured if he wasn't interested in that, I had no chance.

Last weekend, I decided to take some guided instruction on the upper Blue in Breckenridge. I caught about 6 trout in 4 hours and had a blast, even though it was in a snowstorm.

Went back today alone and got nothing. This is getting frustrating.

Does anyone know of a good learning stream fairly close to Denver before I lose interest? Or any other suggestions to keep a novice interested. I know it can take a while to get somewhat good at reading a stream and learning bugs and the lures they imitate. I also know luck has a part to play, but if I don't catch trout on the fly pretty soon here, I just may give up. I read about it voraciously and I'm motivated to do what you all suggest.

M

·
0 Posts
I learned up at Deckers on the South Platte. For a lot of places this still may not be the besty time of year due to runoff. I don't know if the water has slowed yet. I would wait until you have an open day and head to Deckers. Fish by the Trumble bridge where you will be casting towards the backs of some kind of run-down houses. If you don't get any fish, you will at least get etter with your technique. If you feel confident head up the trail into Cheesman Canyon and try your luck. I assume the Flies and Lies shop is still in business, though I haven't been up this year.

Fly fishing was very very very frustrating for me until I fished the San Juan below Navajo Dam. It's right on the border in New Mexico. About 8ish hours from Denvr I would say.

·