Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4,755 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The other day I was thinking about all the changes I have seen in my life. As I am nearing 70, and keeping in mind that I have grandkids older than some of the people on this forum, here are a few things I came up with.

When I was a kid:

There were people still living who had met Abraham Lincoln personally. My great-grandfather was one of them. Lincoln was his father's lawyer, and he used to go with his dad to Lincoln's law office in Illinois. My mother once said, "...and believe me, your great-great grandfather had plenty of use for lawyers." But she never explained what she meant.

There were no television sets available, and no TV stations, but they were soon to come. We got our first TV (black and white) when I was a sophomore in high school. We could get 2 stations, one in Omaha, NE and one in Sioux City, IA.

Some things that didn't exist when I was born:
Jet engines; nylon; The Baseball Hall of Fame; instant coffee; radar; Mercury cars; Tupperware; The March of Dimes; Seeing Eye dogs; auto turn signals; helicopters; the atomic bomb; fluorescent lights; FM radio; Jeeps; Bugs Bunny and Superman; polio shots.

Nobody had a computer, because there weren't any. I had to build my first computer from scratch components, and even to do that I had to wait 35 years until ICs and PC boards were invented. No assemblers, compilers or programming languages existed, just 1's and 0's. There was no Internet, and no e-mail. A postage stamp cost 3 cents.

My dad, a schoolteacher, made $3500 a year and supported a wife and 7 kids on it. He also was able to buy a 2-story house on a huge lot, on that salary. It cost $1500. You could have bought that house with a credit card, except there were no credit cards.