Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new at flyfishing and I am trying to set up my flybox. I am hoping to get some input as to what flies people would stock as their 'standard' setup for western streams. (rs-2's, adams, copper johns, elk-hair caddis, etc) size, color and frequency of use would be greatly appreciated!!

bt

·
Registered
133 Posts
Hi BT,

The flies you mentioned are great! I also keep some san juan worms, pheasant tails, hares ears, prince nymphs, wooly buggers, brassies - all about 16s and smaller (with the exception of the wooly bugger which I like from sz 6-12 in various colors). Stone fly nymphs also have their place as well as egg patterns. Keep the same patterns in beadhead for deeper/faster water. The dries I keep are almost exclusively adams and elk hair caddis. I also like some smallish emerger patterns (emerger patterns are tied so that the abdomen/tail hangs below the surface film while the wings/thorax are in the surface film) in tan, grays, green in sz 16-20. I hope this gives you a good start. There are guys on this forum that are fly fishing geniuses and really know what they are doing. I suspect eventually there will be a fly fishing get-together and you can meet up with some of the folks that know the tricks for the various rivers and they can give you some great advice. But time spent on the river is time well spent. Watch what the fish are doing.

Jeff

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
Your choices above are great. My rule is there is always a San Juan worm on my line. Don't forget Blue Winged Olives and Pale morning duns. Keep everything on the smallish side.

·
Registered
2,678 Posts
Im with Silicone Boy....i fish a San Juan as lead fly on colorado tailwaters 90 percent of the time when i am nymphing...its a good choice and ive had a lot of luck with it.