Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gonna be in Breck April 15-20. I have never fished the area. I usually vacation in MT during the summer (i am a teacher). For spring break, i thought i would do a little fly and ski thing. But i am more interested in fishing. It looks like i will be hitting pre-runnoff...i assume. I don't have the money to hire guides....once again, i am a teacher!

I am looking at the Blue River but it looks pretty technical. I just want to get into some fish. Any recommendations on which stretch to fish?

Any other decent opportunities within an hour drive? Gore Creek?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I have been reading this forum for a while, i have picked up a lot aleady.

You gotta love the fly fishing community!

·
Registered
19 Posts
About an hour south on CO9 there is Antero Reservoir, Elevenmile reservoir, Spinny Mountain reservoir. The Dream Stream is located between Spinney and Elevenmile. Spinney and the Dream Stream are both Gold Medal waters. A search of this sight will definitely give you what flies to use and specific places to fish. Good Luck...

·
Registered
224 Posts
Depending on how many days you plan on fishing... I'd go over to South Park and fish some of the water mentioned above by Renegade. Elevenmile and Spinney reservoirs are both state parks and will require a day pass (~$7). No entrance fee for Antero.

Here a couple links to some close fly shops for conditions/fly suggestions.
www.breckenridgeoutfitters.com In Breck
http://www.fishcolorado.com/reports In Silverthorne with the Blue running right behind it.

You may find less crowds by fishing the Gore or Eagle, but IMO I would rather spend time fishing the Blue tailwater and north of Silverthorne or South Park waters

Good luck and share a report when you have the chance!

Darrin

·
Registered
1,768 Posts