Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,385 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a bought Eagle Cuda 168 fish finder as a beginner fish finder and I am having difficutly adjusting the fish finder to get accurate readings. The transducer is mounted to my trolling motor (There are not to many options on my inflatable pontoon boat) and I get a lot of interference. When I put my hand on the motor while turned on, I feel a lot of vibration. Is this affecting the transducer? If I don't turn the sentitivity to 50% and turn on the noise reducer on high, then my screen goes crazy and shows ton's of fish. Lately, if I see a fish or a school of fish on my sonar I am not sure if it is my fish finder or if I am really seeing fish. Even when I turn the motor off, I get a bunch of junk on my screen.

Do any you have suggestions on how I can get a more accurate reading. How do I know my sonar is not broken. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
664 Posts
I'm no expert but it could be either vibration from the motor as you suggested or possibly electrical interference from the motor itself. One way to test this theory would be to temporarily put the transducer somewhere away from the motor...even just holding it in your hand for a minute to see if the unit acts normally.

·
Registered
2,878 Posts
Do you have the fishfinder going to the trolling battery or do you have a starting battery. If you do, it should always be wired to the starting battery. Another thing you could do-they sell those little batteries (Sportmans has them) and you could have a seperate battery just for the fishfinder. Also, make sure the transducer is not real close to the turbelence created by the tolling motor blades-move it forward if it is-an inch can make a difference.

L

·
0 Posts
If I don't turn the sentitivity to 50% and turn on the noise reducer on high, then my screen goes crazy and shows ton's of fish.